Synthesis and H-1 NMR spectroscopic properties of substituted (eta(4)-tetraarylcyclobutadiene)(eta(5)-cyclopentadienyl)cobalt metallocenes

Nguyen, Huy V., Yeamine, Mebuba R., Amin, Jahangir, Motevalli, Majid and Richards, Christopher J. ORCID: (2008) Synthesis and H-1 NMR spectroscopic properties of substituted (eta(4)-tetraarylcyclobutadiene)(eta(5)-cyclopentadienyl)cobalt metallocenes. Journal of Organometallic Chemistry, 693 (24). pp. 3668-3676. ISSN 0022-328X

Full text not available from this repository. (Request a copy)


The reaction of diarylacetylenes with CoCl(PPh(3))(3) and sodium cyclopentadienylide or sodium carbomethoxycyclopentadienylide gave (eta(4)-tetra-arylcyclobutadiene)(eta(5)-cyclopentadienyl) cobalt and (eta(4)-tetraarylcyclobutadiene)(eta(5)-carbomethoxycyclopentadienyl) cobalt, respectively, where aryl = para-XC(6)H(4) (X = CF(3), F, MeO). The reaction was unsuccessful for the synthesis of (eta(4)-tetra(para-methoxyphenyl) cyclobutadiene)(eta(5)-cyclopentadienyl) cobalt, which was synthesised instead from dicarbonyl( eta(5)-cyclopentadienyl) cobalt. In all of the examples starting with CoCl(PPh(3))(3) an intermediate (eta(5)-cyclopentadienyl)- or (eta(5)-carbomethoxycyclopentadienyl)(triphenylphosphine)-2,3,4,5-tetraa rylcobaltacyclopentadiene complex was isolated, and two examples were characterised by X-ray crystallography. Heating the (eta(5)-cyclopentadienyl)- or (eta(5)-carbomethoxycyclopentadienyl)(triphenylphosphine)2,3,4,5- tetraarylcobaltacyclopentadiene complexes resulted in clean conversion to the corresponding metallocenes. The influence of the para-aryl substituents on the (1)H NMR of the cyclopentadienyl moiety is tabulated, together with the influence of a range of R substituents in (eta 4-tetraphenylcyclobutadiene)( eta(5)-RC(5)H(4)) cobalt (R = CO(2)Me, CH(2)OH, Me, CHO, CCH, CO(2)H, CN, CONHR(1), 2-oxazolinyl, NH(2), NHAc, HgCl, Br, I, SiMe(3), SnMe(3), Ph). (C) 2008 Elsevier B.V. All rights reserved.

Item Type: Article
Additional Information: Nguyen, Huy V. Yeamine, Mebuba R. Amin, Jahangir Motevalli, Majid Richards, Christopher J.
Faculty \ School: Faculty of Science > School of Chemistry
UEA Research Groups: Faculty of Science > Research Groups > Synthetic Chemistry (former - to 2017)
Faculty of Science > Research Groups > Chemistry of Materials and Catalysis
Depositing User: Rachel Smith
Date Deposited: 21 Feb 2012 10:36
Last Modified: 24 Oct 2022 01:01
DOI: 10.1016/j.jorganchem.2008.09.004

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item