The Hiding Game

Wood, Naomi (2019) The Hiding Game. Picador. ISBN 9781509892785 (In Press)

Full text not available from this repository. (Request a copy)

Abstract

This is the story of Paul Brickman, an exiled artist in 1970s England, haunted by his memories of the decade he spent at the Bauhaus art school and the life-changing consequences that have reverberated through the years, especially with regard to the love of his life, Loti, and his best friend, Walter. The story begins in Weimar in 1923 where Paul and his tight-knit group of fellow students are seduced by the charismatic teachings of the Bauhaus. The group quickly becomes a hotbed of unrequited love and burgeoning sexuality. Supposedly friends, it doesn’t stop rivalries and betrayals developing between them, which follow them as the school relocates after being closed down by the far-right government, first to Dessau and then to Berlin. As the group disintegrates under the pressure of their own secrets, lies and love affairs, the novel builds to a powerful tragedy exacerbated by Hitler’s seizing power in 1933. Think Donna Tartt’s The Secret History set in pre-war Germany. For fans of Benjamin Wood’s The Ecliptic and Jessie Burton’s The Muse, it has a similarly atmospheric and fascinating depiction of real-life historical detail as Mrs. Hemingway.

Item Type: Book
Uncontrolled Keywords: bauhaus,weimar germany,art and design
Faculty \ School: ?? LDC ??
Related URLs:
Depositing User: LivePure Connector
Date Deposited: 24 Oct 2018 12:30
Last Modified: 28 Jan 2019 01:14
URI: https://ueaeprints.uea.ac.uk/id/eprint/68621
DOI:

Actions (login required)

View Item